PHILLIPI, W.Va. – Alderson Broaddus University is pleased to announce that Tanya Shelton, vice president for enrollment management, is one of 20 senior-level administrators in higher education nationwide selected by the Council of Independent Colleges and the American Academic Leadership Institute to participate in a year-long Executive Leadership Academy.

Individuals chosen for the program are vice presidents or cabinet officers in higher education who aspire to the presidency of an independent college or university. As a participant, Shelton will attend two seminars and ongoing webinars, participate in a mentoring program, develop experiential learning projects focused on specific areas of presidential responsibility, and complete a series of readings and case studies.

“The Academy will help prepare CAOs to serve as effective college presidents,” says Richard Ekman, President of the Council of Independent Colleges. “Competition for available places in the Academy was intense, and the review committee found the nomination materials to be most impressive. They (and I) believe that Tanya Shelton has the potential for highly effective leadership as a college or university president.”

A graduate of Davis & Elkins College with a Bachelor of Arts degree in English composition, Shelton has a master's degree in higher education administration, and is currently a candidate for a doctorate in educational leadership studies, both from West Virginia University.

She has more than 20 years of career experience in independent higher education. This has included15 years at the cabinet level, having served as vice president for institutional advancement at Alderson Broaddus University and at West Virginia Wesleyan College. Shelton currently serves at AB University as vice president for enrollment management.

“Vice President Shelton is a model candidate for the CIC Executive Leadership Academy,” said Alderson Broaddus University president, Rick Creehan, “The Academy is the logical next step in her distinguished career. Having served as a vice president for advancement, she is credited with the most successful capital campaign in the history of AB University. In her first year as vice president for enrollment services, she will be matriculating the largest incoming class in the 147 year history of the College. Tanya will finish her doctoral work this year and the Leadership Academy should be the culminating program that will aide her preparation to seek a college presidency.”

For more information about the Executive Leadership Academy, visit  


Agnes Caldwell, Adrian College (MI)

Andy Chambers, Missouri Baptist University (MO)

Gregory Dewey, University of La Verne (CA)

James Fleming, Wheeling Jesuit University (WV)

Mary Ann Gawelek, Seton Hill University (PA)

Cheryl Lynn Horsey, Gwynedd-Mercy College (PA)

Michael Kenney, Madonna University (MI)

Ann Landis, Thomas University (GA)

Richanne Mankey, Daemen College (NY)

James McCloskey, Duquesne University (PA)

Suzanne Mellon, Saint Anselm College (NH)

Marie Morris, Anderson University (IN)

Timothy O’Rourke, Virginia Wesleyan College (VA)

James Ostrow, Lasell College (MA)

James Patterson, Centenary College (NJ)

Thomas Pistorino, Regis College (MA)

Julian Schuster, Webster University (MO)

Tanya Shelton, Alderson Broaddus University (WV)

Stuart Sigman, American Jewish University (CA)

Adriene Wright, Florida Memorial University (FL)